## **EXTRA!**

# Aztec Tennis Reporter

Founded 1999 SERVING THE SAN DIEGO STATE TENNIS COMMUNITY MARCH 2023

## Aztec Pair Wins 134th Annual Pacific Coast Men's Doubles Title



TRIUMPHANT TEN: Holding trophy, Aztecs Chikaya Sato and Johannes Seeman are flanked by teammates and coaches in the first moments after their victory. From left, Coach Jeff Thomsen, Teammates Alexander Mandma, Bora Sengul, Lenny Melzer, Andre Saleh, Liam Spiers, Eugenio Gonzalez, and Head Coach Gene Carswell. San Diego State teams have won the prestigious event three times in 20 years. Ryan Redondo, see below, won the championship in 2003 with Aztec Oliver Maiberger.

JOHANNES SEEMAN: "It's a great



feeling. This is one of the tournaments I wanted to win. I'm proud of the win and proud of my partner. It was amazing with a home crowd. Everybody was cheering. CHIKAYA SATO: "It feels great to win it in



front of the San Diego crowd. People didn't even know my name when this tournament started. Playing in front of the home crowd and my teammates and coming through with a win –

it was a great moment."

### 2023 Pacific Men's Doubles Tournament Honors Aztec Ryan Redondo

As the final ended, La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club manager Bill Kellogg introduced 2003 Aztec All American Ryan Redondo, praising him for raising San Diego tennis to nation-

The atmosphere helped us."



al prominence. As director of Youth Tennis San Diego and CEO of the Barnes Tennis Center, Redondo has begun staging ATP and WTA pro tournaments along with its celebrated Billie Jean King national junior girls championships.

All photos by Aztec Tennis Reporter

#### AZTEC TENNIS REPORTER

Johannes Seeman and Chikaya Sato, San Diego State, defeated Calvin Mueller and William Gleason, University of Nebraska. 7-6 (3), 6-3



Aztec Johannes Seeman Pamu, Estonia



Husker Calvin Mueller Frankfurt, Germany





Aztec Chikaya Sato, Tokyo, Japan



Aztec History Repeats

Seeman and Sato became the third SDSU Aztec doubles team to win the prestigious doubles title in the last 20 years. Ryan Redondo and Oliver Maiberger won the title for SDSU in 2003 and the Aztec duo of Achim Ceban and Benedikt Stronk won their championship in 2007.





Husker William Gleason Lincoln, Nebraska

#### EXTRA!